Getting inspired in Tokyo

Leave a comment Standard

In early July I embarked on a 2 week trip to Tokyo to undertake research into both contemporary and traditional painting and drawing in Japan. Before I went I was completely overwhelmed at the thought of being in such a different city with very little Japanese, however upon arriving I was greeted by the most friendly and hospitable people. I learned a lot from my time in Japan, as well as visiting a huge range of galleries and exhibitions – spanning from manga to video art – I also spent a great deal of time drawing my surroundings, which to me were magical. Japan is a fascinating mix of futuristic sushi trains and peaceful zen gardens, it was overwhelming, but a very lovely and surreal way. Overall I gained a lot of perspective on the relationship between eastern and western art, however there is so much more to discover and I really hope to return someday soon having learnt a bit more Japanese.

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

38

39

Leave a Reply

