Naples, Italy

Leave a comment Standard

I had the honour of attending the European Group for Organisational Studies 2016 Conference in Naples, Italy. As an organisational researcher, EGOS is definitely the top conference in my field and what better reason to attend this grand event than it taking place in the beautiful city of Naples during July.

23

The theme of this year’s conference was “Organising in the Shadow of Power” which is a tremendously relevant topic to be discussed not only as academics but as members of an ever changing complex society, where political and economic power are overlapping in all areas of our lives.

24

I was worried about the crime in the city. There is a Business Insider article from 2015 that is titled “Why no one wants to travel to Naples”. I have an Italian colleague and he told me to be careful with my purse at all times and to avoid public transportation at night. Being from a country with high crime rate, it takes a lot to scare me, but I am naturally very wary and a lot less trusting than Europeans, so I figured I would be fine if I take my usual travel safety precautions, and I was.

What I was most worried about, was the Camorra Mafia. There is another news article that says Italy was sending its army to Naples because of the murder rate was soaring due to a drug war. Again, I am very familiar with drug related violence in my own country and I have the basic sense of how to avoid it and go on with your life. Thankfully, nothing happened and I had a very pleasant trip.

25

What I learned from attending this conference was mainly different insights, especially from much more experienced academics, on approaching multidisciplinary research. Management research proves complex in integrating concepts such as strategy with much more abstract ones such as psychology. As the research experience shows, the continuous practice and ongoing development of research on the conditions and problems, both organisational and universal, is one of the primary purposes of the university.

Research stands as an element that can contribute to national development, however, is essential to recognize the inability of any discipline that seeks isolation understand the complexity of national problems, therefore, one should have a multidisciplinary approach.

26

Leave a Reply

