Huduma Ya Kwanza Katika Tanzania

Leave a comment Standard

Roughly translated as “First Aid in Tanzania” I thought I would take this opportunity to show of my very limited swahili skills. I was making progress – but sadly I had to leave after my 7 week stay. On arrival to Moshi – our centre for all things first aid we were greeted with the magnificent sight of Kilimanjaro!

Kilimanjaro_Moshi
Our Inductions began on the roof of the building this photo was taken on, where I got to meet my expedition partner and good friend Pedro. Really can’t express just how grateful I am that he was my partner.

WP_20150804_16_38_53_Pro
After our induction we were sent off to placement to begin teaching in schools, community centres and vocational centres. We were placed in Uchira secondary school about an hour outside Moshi – where we stayed in the provided accommodation for teachers.

WP_20150729_09_20_16_Pro
The accommodation was simple and functional: no flushing toilets, 1 light, 1 power outlet… Sorted. There was no kitchen so we took to the task like Bear Grylls himself. Toasting over fires, buying our own chickens – alive of course… You know what happened to this chickens but I’ll save you from those images. Have toast instead.

WP_20150804_18_17_22_Pro

So we set off to life here for the next 4 weeks and began teaching the 400 students at the school class by class. Everyday we would work for 4 hours and that’s not including the amount of preparation required. Hope we all know our DRSABC!!

WP_20150729_15_25_40_Pro
For 4 weeks we stayed with the teachers (most of whom were our age) and just got so immersed in the lifestyle. The guys we stayed with helped make the experience what it was so I’ll give them a cheeky wee photo.

WP_20150805_18_10_13_Pro
At the weekends we were free to do as we pleased. The whole group usually meets up in Moshi with some sort of plan for the weekend! No weekend was greater than our trip to the N’gorogoro crater.

WP_20150815_15_08_49_Pro
I could give you a lesson on what it is but I only have so many words here but the whole experience left me speechless!

WP_20150815_11_49_39_Pro

WP_20150815_12_00_38_Pro
The safari weekend was an incredible experience – I would highly recommend it to anyone, animal lover or not.
Around the third week of placement we started getting a regular wake-up call from our newest friend Elson. He would chap our window for hours. He was sassy – look at that pose!

WP_20150813_08_16_35_Pro

Time went so quickly in Uchira and at week 4 it was time to leave. The students whom we taught were examined and those who passed received first aid qualifications. The “graduation” ceremony was one of the most difficult experiences of my life. I can’t do it justice here but I made some serious friends there and leaving them was painful – even if I am smiling in these photos.

WP_20150820_09_27_58_Pro

WP_20150821_11_17_11_Pro

In the words of the living legend. UCHIRAAA!!?

25235723

Leave a Reply

