My arabic adventure: Work experience in Abu Dhabi

Leave a comment Standard

kieramacleanblog

This summer the principals access go abroad scheme allowed me to travel to Abu Dhabi to do work experience at the British Embassy for two weeks. I was so excited to spend my first night in a bungalow owned by the Embassy, (in which princes Diana has also stayed) set in the beautiful oasis of Al Ain. I set to work on my first day at the Embassy on Sunday (in Arab states working weeks are Sunday – Thursday).
IMG_8503
My work gave me an overall insight into how the British Embassy and the United Arab Emirates come together in many areas of political and practical co-operation. For my first week I started in the Department for International Development, shadowing their Representative to the Gulf States. I learnt how relationships are built with aid donors in the United Arab Emirates. My days entailed reading diplomatic telegrams, sitting in at meetings and…

View original post 278 more words

Leave a Reply

