Canadian Ranch Summer

Leave a comment Standard
10556282_10155896531200397_7708124314447082592_n

Sending the herd out to the fields for the night

This summer I spent 8 weeks working on a horse ranch in British Columbia, Canada. This experience was to help me improve my leadership skills and personal independence. This was possible through the scheme the ranch had in place in which we were held accountable to our goals. I was really excited for this opportunity as I have a long term goal of becoming a clinical psychologist. In this extremely competitive field I felt that gaining skills in areas such as self improvement and self reflection would be invaluable in helping me to achieve my career goals, as well as hopefully making me a more effective psychologist one day.

Being able to work with some of the new, young horses in my spare time was a huge highlight

Being able to work with some of the new, young horses in my spare time was a huge highlight

Before I left I was worried about travelling alone, I have only ever travelled with friends. This has allowed me to leave much of the organising and hard work to others! This experience pushed me to leave my comfort zone and tackle more complex issues such as insurance and finding my way to airports and hostels. On arrival I was also pushed to meet new people, no hiding behind my friend group. I feel it’s helped me become a lot more independent and in turn a lot more confident in myself and my abilities. There were no mishaps and I have made a whole host of new friends!

When painting the chicken house tuned into a paint fight..

When painting the chicken house tuned into a paint fight..

The trip I made has definitely made me a more confident and proactive person. I have had to push through tricky issues and have surprised myself when they worked out! Through my work at the ranch my leadership skills have improved no end, and I have developed the excellent habit of setting goals in everything I do. This leads to much more effective work. Working as a ranch hand I was given a lot of responsibility in a lot of areas which were foreign to me. Though daunting at first I learnt to be more confident in my own abilities and instincts and have gained new skills. On top of this I’ve had a wonderful experience in a new country and have left with memories and friends which will last forever. Thank you Go Abroad Fund for making this possible!

Leave a Reply

