Chitokoloki

Leave a comment Standard

nursingatchit

For my nursing elective, I travelled to Zambia, to work in a hospital known as Chitokoloki for three weeks, then moved on to a clinic called Dipolata. Now, Africa is a relatively common place for those with a medical background to visit and work in. There is plenty of work to be done, and a severe shortage of workers to do it, but for me there was another appeal.

My Great-grandfather was a missionary out in Zambia and my grandmother was born out there. My grandparents return to Zambia often and actually build Dipolata during their trips out. I grew up helping to package supplies for Chit and hearing about the work out there, so when it came to picking my elective I didn’t need to think too hard. I knew where I was meant to go.

I won’t pretend that I wasn’t nervous. One of the problems with Zambia is that there is a…

View original post 344 more words

Leave a Reply

